The Year of Stitch 2017

Since 1 January I have been following (and doing) the Year of Stitch 2017 online (see their Facebook group). The idea is to stitch every day and to post each Sunday. Thousands of folk from all over the world started and it is lovely to see the posts arriving each week, starting in Australia and gradually working around to the Americas. 

Like all these things, it is difficult to do things every single day. I will admit to having ‘catch up’ sessions every few days and I probably post my progress about once a month. 

I am currently stitching the August segment of my chosen circular design. I am trying to incorporate bits of stitch which will remind me of events over the year, hence this month a tiny piece of patchwork reminds me of my trip to the Festival of Quilts at the NEC. The image shows August ‘in progress’ also (working left to right) July, June and a little bit of May. 

So your challenge is to try and identify some of the events that inspired the stitching. Good luck!

Leave a comment