Apres hols

OK, so not as much progress recently due to summer breaks away. However, the embroidered chip paper idea came in handy again. Remember I had two chip papers? Well the second is now looking very much the same as the first, it was an easy project to take away and finish within a week as I already knew what threads to take. It is now mounted and ready to go to a new home. No photo as it looks remarkably like the first!

However, I recently went to a workshop led by Liz Smith. We had to take a photo of a landscape or garden, remove part of it and then replace with fabric and stitch. I’m not sure how I managed it, but I forgot to take any fabric. Put it down to a senior moment maybe. So I improvised with some papers instead. I took a photo of my garden to work on and the results are in the photo. With hindsight (which is a wonderful thing) I think I would have been better to take a simpler image of a distant landscape. This would have given a less fussy result with more impact – sometimes ‘less is more’.  Never mind, at least I have an image of my garden in full summer growth to remind me over the coming winter months.

Leave a comment