Banjara with Bling

A few days ago a friend of mine reminded me that I haven’t posted anything on here for a while (sorry Chris!). What can I say except that I have no idea where the last couple of months have gone.

I am currently working on a collection of little projects which may eventually become a new day workshop. These stem from a piece of work which I started some time last year but then abandoned for some considerable time. Those who have read my previous blogs will realise that this is a common theme with me!

The original idea came from a Wendy Dolan book. Pieces of neutral coloured fabrics were collected, assembled and machine stitched together. They were then coloured (with silk paints in my case) before providing a background for an appliqué picture on top.

The appliqué bit really didn’t appeal to me, so the coloured background sat around on one of my work surfaces for months. No inspiration at all! Then suddenly I wondered if I might like it more if I trimmed off the edges where the paint hadn’t quite reach and bound them. This done, and a nice bold running stitch worked round the edge, and I was ready to get going.

Bling was added with some painted bondaweb and transfer foil, then I could really let rip with some simple but dense running stitch which was used a basis for Banjara quilting. A few sequins to ensure enough sparkle and I now have a lovely, heavily textured mat for one of my occasional tables. I think this could be adapted to make smaller items such as coasters, mug rugs, etc. Watch this space!BEF14E0C-7956-40F7-8052-018190B1879A

Leave a comment